About eCampus Photo

set out to succeed online through eCampus


Every campus in the University of Wisconsin System is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States, the Higher Learning Commission is located in Chicago, Illinois, and accredits degree-granting post secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.

There are two types of accreditation: institutional and specialized. The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools provides institutional accreditation by evaluating the entire educational institution, including its educational mission, administration and student services, financial stability and student learning. Specialized accreditation (or program accreditation) is used to evaluate schools or programs within an institution - for example, engineering, law or specific disciplines such as business, teacher education, psychology or social work. (Source: Higher Learning Commission website).

Contact the Higher Learning Commission:

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413
Phone: 800.621.7440 / 312.263.0456 . Fax: 312.263.7462. info@hlcommission.org

Please note, the UW System eCampus itself is not a degree-granting institution. All UW System eCampus programs listed are offered through one or more of the campuses within the University of Wisconsin System. The credit-bearing institution within the UW System through which your chosen program is provided will award your degree. In the event that multiple campuses offer the degree, you will need to choose your home campus.